The New Home

In the end it came down to 2 homes-and we were so so close to doing a simultaneous bid but this one won out. I’ll talk about the other house soon (as well as why we didn’t go with it) but in the meantime, here are some photographs of the place that I took during the inspection. Unfortunately, Booboo’s phone AND our iPad died during the inspection so we don’t have any of the bathrooms and I only got 2 of the bedrooms. It’s not at all the home I thought I’d buy one day (very modern). Actually, the home we passed on was a 150 year old Victorian. But after years of “settled for” apartment living I yearned for the convenience of modern construction, so here we are. It’s move-in ready and our seller actually had incredible taste, so we’re not even bothering to change paint colours. Here we go!

Exterior. It's a carriage house. We considered this a negative till we looked at the crime stats. But! I'm excited about buying Lockitron or August to let people into our house all futuristic-like.

Exterior. It’s a carriage house. We considered this a negative till we looked at the crime stats. But! I’m excited about buying Lockitron or August to let people into our house all futuristic-like.

From the front door you walk into a mini foyer. There's a room coat closet here so we're not sure adding wall hooks is worth it. Let's see.

From the front door you walk into a mini foyer. There’s a room coat closet here so we’re not sure adding wall hooks is worth it. Let’s see.

Taken from the foyer. Some of our livingroom. This is a really big open space with high ceilings.

Taken from the foyer. Some of our livingroom. This is a really big open space with high ceilings.

Another section of our main living area. I think long-term this is going to end up as a compact office nook but right now we are childless so the smaller room is going to be an office. B's friends gave us the perfect painting to cover up the electrical box-so either I need a frame or need to make one soon.

Another section of our main living area. I think long-term this is going to end up as a compact office nook but right now we are childless so the smaller room is going to be an office. B’s friends gave us the perfect painting to cover up the electrical box-so either I need a frame or need to make one soon.

Sooo. The kitchen. It's big and roomy and aesthetically not particularly to my taste. I loathe the tile. But it's also pretty new and in good shape.

Sooo. The kitchen. It’s big and roomy and aesthetically not particularly to my taste. I loathe the tile. But it’s also pretty new and in good shape.

The seller has a dog. I'm wondering if the stair carpet is dog-related because there's wood in the middle. If it was added by the guy we bought the house from, then I'll probably remove it as I really like the wood in this house.

The seller has a dog. I’m wondering if the stair carpet is dog-related because there’s wood in the middle. If it was added by the guy we bought the house from, then I’ll probably remove it as I really like the wood in this house.

We have skylights in every room on the 2nd floor. This is both good and bad for us (to be explained in separate post). Here's half the master suite. It's quite huge though B and I frequently shake our heads over the insane use of space. This is the front half from the back area.

We have skylights in every room on the 2nd floor. This is both good and bad for us (to be explained in separate post). Here’s half the master suite. It’s quite huge though B and I frequently shake our heads over the insane use of space. This is the front half from the back area.

Master Bedroom 2

Rest of the master suite. Did you notice? They never installed windows!! This is the first investment we're making in the house and it's why even our seller lives in what is technically the guest bedroom.

Rest of the master suite. Did you notice? They never installed windows!! This is the first investment we’re making in the house and it’s why even our seller lives in what is technically the guest bedroom.

Will be our bedroom till we install windows in the master. I love the colours in this room (throughout the house really)

Will be our bedroom till we install windows in the master. I love the colours in this room (throughout the house really)

Off the kitchen we have a roomy enough area/alcove from where you can go to the basement or out to the deck. Like our seller, we'll be doing bike storage here, though I also have some other plans for it.

Off the kitchen we have a roomy enough area/alcove from where you can go to the basement or out to the deck. The tile here is continued out from the kitchen so you can see more of what I hate. It has such a pink tone to it that with all the sun coming in it makes all these walls look pink even though they’re painted straight white.

We have a really huge, finished basement. I'm so confused as to why the basement has a more neutral tile! I love this added space. We're planning a gym and game room down here.

We have a really huge, finished basement. I’m so confused as to why the basement has a more neutral tile! I love this added space. We’re planning a gym and game room down here.

Not pictured:

Bathrooms (3, full!)

Third bedroom (office/nursery sized)

Pantry under stairs

Next up: proposed plans, design ideas, things I’ve been mulling over about what we absolutely NEEEEED to change versus petulantly want to change and why we didn’t buy the Lion House (even though with our last name we had the most awesome nickname for that one!).

This entry was posted in Design, Dirty Jerz, Renovation, The Pursuit of Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

